Difference Between Lactose-Free and Dairy-Free (With Table)

Lactose-free and Dairy-free might sound similar, but they are different from each other. Some people refer this both things as the same, but they are not the same. Dairy-free products are not made from any dairy product. Rather they are made from nuts or plants. Lactose-Free products are made from real milk products, but the lactose in the product has been removed from the product.

Lactose-Free vs Dairy-Free

The difference between Lactose-Free and Dairy Free is Lactose-Free is made from real milk products, but the lactose has been removed from the products, but Dairy Free is not made from any kind of milk product. These products are made from nuts, plant products, and many other things.

Lactose-Free is those products from which the lactose has been removed. Lactose is the milk sugar in the product. Lactose makes the product sweeter. The product is removed from all kinds of milk products and has been made less sweet. Lactose-Free products contain casein and whey.

Dairy-Free products are made from plants or nuts. It is not made by any kind of milk product. These products are the best alternative for those who are allergic to dairy products. This is best for those allergic people. These people cannot consume the protein in the milk products due to which they consume Dairy Free products.

Comparison Table Between Lactose-Free and Dairy-Free

Parameters of ComparisonLactose-FreeDairy-Free
Presence of lactaseNoYes
SweetnessMoreNatural sweetness
Casein and wheyYesNo
Milk productYesNo
Appropriate for milk allergicNoYes
VeganNoYes

What is Lactose-Free?

Lactose-Free is the most suitable alternative for those who cannot consume lactose. These people are often known as Lactose intolerant. These products are made from pure dairy products. Dairy products contain lactose which is a sweet element. This sugar makes the product sweeter. The sweet is taken out of these products. This is the only change.

People with milk allergies cannot consume Lactose-free as it still carries milk products. Milk allergic people should never consume these Lactose-free products as it can make them bloated. The health will be uneasy. Lactose intolerant people cannot digest the lactose in the product, due to which it can make their health uneasy.

Lactose intolerant people should consume lactose-free products, and they do not have to switch to dairy-free products as they can digest milk products. There is no problem with dairy products. Nearly 65% of the human population is lactose-intolerant.

A person who is lactose intolerant does not contain the enzyme which is needed to digest the lactose. The lactase gets into the colon area, and the lactose is broken down by bacteria. This situation can be dangerous for the person. This process will make the person feel bloated, and sometimes it can lead to danger.

What is Dairy-Free?

Dairy-Free are those products that do not contain any kind of milk product. It is only made from vegan products and nuts. These products do not contain casein or whey. It has lactose in it. The milk products are naturally sweet. People with milk allergies are not allowed to consume any kind of milk product.

If a milk allergic consumes any kind of milk product, then the person might feel bloated. In severe cases, the person might get rashes, and some can have trouble breathing. This condition is common in babies. Dairy allergic people can also get reactions to sin their skin and even lungs.

Dairy-free does not involve any cheese, butter, or cream. It is made from all other vegan products and does not has any milk from any animal. Sometimes this milk is consumed due to ethical reasons. Dairy-free does not have any dairy product, but it can allow other animal foods.

These products are best suitable for milk allergic people. These dairy-free products are vegan. There is no milk added to these products. Milk of coconut, rice, and almond are not made from any animal, due to which this product has great consumption.

Main Differences Between Lactose-Free and Dairy-Free

  1. Lactose-Free does not contain lactase, but Dairy-free products contain lactase.
  2. Lactose-Free is sweeter to taste as compared to Dairy Free products.
  3. Lactose-Free products contain casein and whey, but Dairy-free does not contain casein and whey.
  4. Lactose-Free has milk products in it, but Dairy-free does not contain any type of milk product.
  5. Lactose-free is not good for milk allergies, but Dairy-free is good for milk allergies.
  6. Lactose-free is not vegan, but Dairy-free is vegan.

Conclusion

Dairy products contain lactose which is milk sugar. This sugar makes the product sweeter. The sweet is taken out of these products. Milk allergic people should never consume these Lactose-free products as it can make them bloated. The health will be uneasy. Lactose-Free is sweeter to taste.

The lactase gets into the colon area, and the lactose is broken down by bacteria. This situation can be dangerous for the person. These products are made from pure dairy products. Lactose-Free products contain casein and whey. Lactose intolerant people should consume lactose-free products, and they do not have to switch to a dairy-free product as they can digest milk products.

Sometimes this milk is consumed due to ethical reasons. It is only made from vegan products and nuts. These products do not contain casein or whey. It has lactose in it. Dairy-free does not contain casein and whey. These dairy-free products are vegan. There is no milk added to these products.

It has lactose in it. The milk products are naturally sweet. Milk of coconut, rice, and almond are not made from any animal, due to which this product has great consumption. In severe cases, the person might get rashes, and some can have trouble breathing. This condition is common in babies.

References

  1. https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S2352385918300069
  2. https://www.nature.com/articles/pr2014159
x
2D vs 3D