Difference Between Pentecost and Jewish Feast of Weeks

All over the world, there are numerous religions with their followers. Religion is worship or belief in a superhuman that controls power.


Religion Quiz

Test your knowledge about topics related to religion

1 / 5

What Does 'Dharma' mean?

2 / 5

The Orthodox Church came into existence on what great event in Christian history?

3 / 5

What is the last book of a Christian Bible?

4 / 5

Every night during Ramadan, special prayers are said at the mosque. What are these prayers called?

5 / 5

During which of the following festivals do some Muslims visit the cemetery to remember those who have been separated from them by death?

Your score is


It is one of the factors which differentiate people from each other. Every religious sector expresses its faith in its way.

The Jews, the Christians, and the Muslims observe special festivals, celebrations, or holidays to show their sincerity and love towards the mighty creator. Pentecost and Jewish Feast of Weeks are two of the festivals.

Pentecost vs Jewish Feast of Weeks 

The difference between Pentecost and Jewish feast of weeks is that Pentecost celebrates the Holy Spirit’s descent on the Apostles and disciples of Jesus. On the other hand, the Jewish feast of weeks celebrates the Torah revelation by God to Israelites at Mount Sinai.  

Pentecost vs Jewish Feast of Weeks

Pentecost is also referred to as Trinity Sunday and Whitsunday. In Christian Church, it is the major festival commemorated on the 7th Sunday or simply the 50th day after Easter.

Modern Christians generally observe Pentecost as a holiday but not as a day to harvest wheat. This day they remember when the Church was invaded Holy Spirit.

Shavuot or the feast of weeks are the same things, which are commemorated seven weeks after Passover. When 50 days of Seder complete then after Shavuot takes place.

Its roots can be traced from the festival, which focuses on the grain harvest. It is identified with the Torah given by God.

Comparison Table

Parameters of ComparisonPentecost Jewish Feast of Weeks 
InterpretationIt is a festival of Christian that commemorates the holy spirit’s descent on the apostles of Jesus following his ascension.It is a holiday of Jewish that commemorates the day when the Torah was given to the entire nation of Israel (at Mount Sinai) by God.
Type ChristianJewish
Also calledWhitsunday and Trinity SundayAs its official name is Hebrew it is also known as the feast of weeks
Begins7th Sunday after EasterOn the 6th day of Sivan
EndsOn the same dayOn the 7th day of Sivan

What is Pentecost? 

The Christian holiday, namely Pentecost, is commemorated on the 50th day just after Easter. In Jerusalem, the Apostles’ Acts are described as the Feast of Weeks.

For the day of Pentecost, there were several offerings, celebrations, and sacrifices are prescribed in the law. It is also known as White Sunday or Whitsun, or Whitsunday.

In the United Kingdom, Whit Monday is traditionally the next day and also a public holiday. In many European countries, Monday is the legal holiday that occurs after Pentecost.

Traditionally, the next day is Whit Monday and is considered a public holiday in the United Kingdom. In Eastern Christianity, the entire fifty days of Easter are also referred to as Pentecost.

Because through the Pentecost inclusive, the book contains the liturgical text called Pentecost Arion. As Pentecost date depends on the Easter date.  

It is considered one of the great feasts in the Eastern Orthodox Church. In the Lutheran churches, it is a festival.

The Catholic Church in the Roman Rite is a solemnity. In the Anglican communion, it is a principal feast. 

What is Jewish Feast of Weeks? 

In English, Shavuot is referred to as the Feast of Weeks. Generally, it is a holiday of Jewish, which is commemorated on Sivan’s sixth day of the Hebrew month. In the Bible, Pentecost marked the wheat harvest in the Israel land.

The celebrations are festive meals, eating of dairy products, all-night Torah study, and book of Ruth reading. The word Shavuot commonly means weeks.

It features the conclusion of the Omer counting. The Omer seven-week counting is mandated by the Torah, beginning on the Passover second day and followed by Shavuot.

The counting of weeks and days is recognized to express aspiration and anticipation for the Torah gives. Orthodox rabbinic traditions generally teach the date, which also marks the revelation at Mount Sinai in Israel of Old Torah.

Three pilgrimage festivals ordained one of them biblically. In Israel, it is traditionally commemorated for only one day and also considers a public holiday.

In the diaspora, it is for two days. It begins on the 6th day of Sivan and ends on the 7th day of Sivan.

Main Differences Between Pentecost and Jewish Feast of Weeks 

  1. When it comes to significance, Pentecost celebrates the Holy Spirit’s descent on the Apostles and Jesus Christ’s followers, while the Jewish feast of weeks celebrates the Torah revelation by God to Israelites at Mount Sinai.  
  2. The Pentecost is generally related to Whit Monday, Pinkster, Whit Friday, Shavuot, Trinity Sunday, Whit Tuesday, Rosalia, and Green Week. On the other hand, the Jewish feast of weeks is only related to Passover.
  3. The Pentecost is observed by Oriental Orthodox, Old Catholics, Anglicans, Lutherans, Roman Catholics, Eastern Orthodox, Eastern Catholics, and other Christians. But the Jewish feast of weeks is only observed by Jews.
  4. Church services, folk customs, festive clothing, procession, ordination are some of the celebrations of Pentecost, whereas the celebrations of the Jewish feast of weeks are all-night Torah study, festive meals, eating of dairy products, and book of Ruth reading.  
  5. In terms of observances, Pentecost generally do prayer, fasting, Holy Communion, vigils, novenas, and retreats. On the flip side, observances of the Jewish feast of weeks are Bikkurim or first fruits to the temple in Jerusalem. 


  1. https://drama.washington.edu/sites/drama/files/documents/events/2012-13_pentecost.pdf
  2. https://yaiy.org/Magazine/pdfs/May-JuneYAIYBeacon.pdf
One request?

I’ve put so much effort writing this blog post to provide value to you. It’ll be very helpful for me, if you consider sharing it on social media or with your friends/family. SHARING IS ♥️