Social media is a comprehensive platform to connect with people all around the world. These people can be your friends, family, and sometimes even strangers. It is an excellent way to stay in touch with everybody, but at the same time, it can create problems.
Sometimes you don’t like a certain someone in your friend list, and so you decide to no more keep them in your friend list, and so you unfriend.
And sometimes you almost want to think that a particular person does not exist for you anymore because things have become very negative between you two, and that is where you decide to block them.
Block vs Unfriend
The difference between block and unfriend is that you unfriend people who may no longer interest you. The reason behind that can be that you have some issues with them, or they are inactive on their social media pages and many more.
But you block someone when things have become terrible in your relationship, or staying connected to them has become something negative to you. In short, you no longer want them to exist for you.
Comparison Table Between Block and Unfriend
|Parâmetros de comparação||Block||Unfriend|
|Razão||You want to get completely disconnected from them.||They might not interest you anymore or are no longer active on their social media pages.|
|Activities||Will not be able to see each other’s social media updates and posts.||Will still be able to see each other’s social media updates and posts.|
|Messages||Will not be able to send or receive any messages.||Will be able to send or receive messages.|
|Returning||Just have to add them back in your friend list.||Have to unblock them first and then add back to your friend list.|
|Sharing content||Will not be able to share any content with each other.||Will be able to share any content with each other.|
What is Block?
“Block” is an option on social media sites that allows you to disconnect entirely from a particular person you want to block. There can be various reasons behind blocking someone like you might have some serious issues with them.
Maybe you don’t like them to have access to your profile, or perhaps you don’t want the person you wish to block to exist for you anymore because your relationship has become so negative.
Once you block someone on your social media, they are not allowed to see your profile, and neither are you, but you still have access to unblock them, whereas they do not have any such access. They also can not send you any messages, and neither can you. You both will not be visible to each other’s searches anymore.
You can unblock the person later if you want, but once you block someone, that person is automatically removed from your friend list. So later, if you unblock them, you have to add them back again to your friend list by sending them a friend request if you want to see their social media activities.
However, if that person’s account is public, you don’t have to send them a friend request to see their activities on their social media profile.
What is Unfriend?
“Unfriend” is an option on social media sites that allows you to remove a certain someone from your friend list. The reason behind someone taking this action can be anything like the person you want to block does not interest you anymore or is no longer active on their social media page. Sometimes you both might have some issues with each other.
An important thing to understand here is that unfriend someone does not mean to disconnect them from yourself completely. The person you block can anytime see your social media activities unless you have a private profile, and vice versa is also true.
You both will be able to see each other’s posts and updates and will also be able to text each other. You both will still appear on each other’s searches.
You can add them back to your friend list anytime you want. Also, when you unfriend someone from your profile, they do not get any notification about it.
Main Differences Between Block and Unfriend
- Unfriending someone does not mean that you want to end all your ties with that person, whereas blocking them does mean that.
- The person you unfriend can still see your posts and updates unless you have a private account. In contrast, the blocked person will not be able to do any of these things.
- The person you unblock can still send you messages, and so can you, but the person you have blocked can not, and neither can you.
- You can add the unfriended person again to your friend list, whereas you have to unblock the person you have blocked first and then add them back to your friend list.
- When you unfriend someone, you both will still appear in each other’s searches, whereas this is not the case with the person you have blocked.
People generally unfriend someone when they do not want to keep them on their friend list anymore. It does not mean that they have some issues with them. They might not like the type of updates posted by that person, or maybe that person is no more active on his social media site for a long time.
Once you unfriend someone, it does not mean that you will get completely disconnected from them. It merely means that you have restricted some of their access to your profile. However, they can still see your social media updates and posts unless your profile is private, and so can you. They can also send you texts and invites, and so can you.
Whereas people generally block someone when they no more wish to stay connected with them in any way, they do not want them to exist anymore. This situation arrives when the relationship between two people has become very negative, and so they wish to end ties with each other.
When you block someone, they cannot see any activity on your profile until you unblock them. They will also not be able to send you any texts and invites. You both will also not appear on each other’s searches. It’s like you both don’t exist for each other on social media.