Difference Between Oscar and Emmy

Oscar Awards are given to the individuals in the film industry if they have shown some extraordinary cinematic skills in the films.


Entertainment Quiz

Test your knowledge about topics related to entertainment

1 / 10

Who played the character of Iron Man in the Marvel Cinematic Universe?

2 / 10

What type of music is characterized by its use of syncopated rhythms and improvisation?

3 / 10

Which of the following is a dance style originating from India?

4 / 10

Who is the lead singer of the popular band Pink Floyd?

5 / 10

Who is the voice behind the character of Woody in the Toy Story franchise?

6 / 10

Who is the lead vocalist of the rock band Queen?

7 / 10

What is the name of the famous painting by Leonardo da Vinci that depicts the Last Supper?

8 / 10

Who is the creator of the popular TV show Breaking Bad?

9 / 10

Who is the lead singer of the legendary rock band "Led Zeppelin"?

10 / 10

What type of dance involves movements that imitate the flight of birds?

Your score is


In a film, there are many parts such as costume designing, acting, special effects, etc., and 24 more categories. The Academy of Motion Pictures and Sciences presented this award.

The Emmy Awards are given by the Academy of television arts and science, the National Academy of Television arts and science, and the International Academy of awards and science.

Oscar vs Emmy

The difference between Oscar and Emmy is that Oscars are given annually for superiority in film industries, whereas Emmy is given for reasonable performance in television industries throughout the year. The Main is that both are given for outstanding performances in cinema and television.

Oscar vs Emmy

 Oscars is an Academy Award and is given for extraordinary performance in the Film Industry. There are 24 different artistic and technical categories provided.

Although it covers a large part of the Hollywood industry, it still contains the appreciation of best work in films all around the world. Academy of motion picture arts and science, in short APMAS, gives this award.

This is the oldest award and is considered very precious because of that. In 1930, the first broadcasting of awards was done.

Emmy awards are one of the biggest awards in the world and are presented to the ones who do outstanding in the television industry. They also have different categories, such as academic awards for films.

For theater, they have tony awards and Grammy awards for music. They are distributed into a combination of phases in which different categories are bestowed.

These organizations supervise under 3 groups. Those are NATAS, ATAS, IATAS.

Comparison Table

Parameters of ComparisonOscarEmmy
Awarded forGetting excellent success in cinemas.Achieving excellence in the television industry.
RecognitionIn cinemaIn the television industry.
Given byBy academy of motion picture science and artsATAS, NATAS, IATAS
1st award presented16th May 192925th of January 1949
Awarded/Given toGlobal area, but the main focus is on the American film industry.These are given only to Americans.

What is Oscar?

Oscar is popularly known as Academy Awards and is considered the most prestigious and notable award in the entertainment industry. It is given by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Science.

It is awarded for outstanding performance in the American and international film industry in the United States of America.

The first award was given on the 16th of May in 1929 at the Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel in Los Angeles and was hosted by Douglas.

The word academy award was the only Academy Award that was not broadcasted either on radio or even on television.

7th heaven and sunrise it is you three awards, and they were declared the major barriers the winners here are awarded the gold plated statuette, and this is given as a trophy which is commonly known as Oscar.

The design was expressed by Cedric gibbons and was sculpted by George Stanley. There are 24 categories total from which winners are chosen, for example:-

  • Best picture 
  • Best actor/actress
  • Cinematography
  • Best directing 
  • Best visual effects 
  • Cinematography

The members of the Academy of motion picture arts and Sciences only nominate and vote for the Oscar candidates

The Academy, as we can see, is divided into several branches, and in each award, there are various nominees in different categories, and The Chosen One is of different branches, just like writers of film production are members nominated by writers.

In the same way, as we can see, the actors nominate the actors, and one who is included in the sound production nominates the ones for the sound production.


What is Emmy?

An Emmy award is commonly known as Emmy. It is awarded for distinction in the television industry and the first time when it was awarded was in 1949 on 25th January. It is deemed as one of the major entertainment awards in the US.

The Other awards being the Grammy awards in the music category and the Oscar Awards for the film, plus the Tony awards for the theatre. The Emmy award is presented by three distinct organizations.

The first one is the Academy of Television Arts and Science, the second one is the National Academy of Television Arts and Science, and the International Academy of television arts and Science being the third. 

 Diving into the history of Emmy awards, we can gather the information that the word “Emmy” has come from the French slang “Immi.” Image Corticon is a camera tube used in the Television camera.

The Emmy statue depicts a winged woman holding an atom. Louis Mcmanus designed the award. This person made his wife the model, and that is presented in the Emmy awards now.

The wings of the Statue here represent the news of earth, and the atom represents electrons which we studied in our science chapters. 

The Emmy awards were designed by the National Academy of Television Arts and Science, and only the members of that Academy of television arts and sciences can vote for the awards, and the members vote only for the persons who are included in their disciplines.

For example, actors can vote only for actors, music writers can vote only for music writers, the production team can vote for the production team, and so on.


Main Differences Between Oscar and Emmy 

  1. The Oscar award was awarded for the first time in 1929, whereas Emmy awards were presented in 1949 for the first time.
  2. Oscar Awards are held annually, whereas, in the Emmy, ceremonies are held throughout the year.
  3. The Oscar awards are for excellence in cinematic achievement, whereas Emmy awards are for good doing in the television industry.
  4. The Oscar Awards are maintained and organized by the Academy of Motion Pictures and Sciences while the Academy of television arts and Science and the National Academy of Television Arts and Science, as well as the International Academy of television arts and Science, all together manage Emmy awards.
  5. Oscar recognizes the distinction of professionals in the film industry, whereas an Emmy, it is given for the excellence of professionals in the television industry and also includes the film industry as well as the theatre and music industry. So overall, we can say Oscar Awards are a part of Emmy awards.


  1. https://journals.sagepub.com/doi/abs/10.2466/pr0.2000.86.1.175
  2. https://www.jstor.org/stable/pdf/j.ctvhn0b1k.4.pdf
One request?

I’ve put so much effort writing this blog post to provide value to you. It’ll be very helpful for me, if you consider sharing it on social media or with your friends/family. SHARING IS ♥️