Difference Between Shia and Sunni

In Islam, every Muslim believes in the fact that Allah is their one and only lord and Muhammad (PBUH) is His last Prophet.

The Holy Quran is the last manual of instructions from Allah to all mankind and after everyone’s death one day He will resurrect every soul that died.

After the resurrection, all humans will be questioned about their deeds and actions.

Though even in Muslims, there are supposed to be two groups- Sunni and Shia, and their separation happened when the last Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) died in AD 632.

Shia vs Sunni

The main difference between Shia and Sunni is that the Shia people believe that after Muhammad’s departure, the legal descendant should be the fourth caliph Ali, who was the son-in-law and cousin of the beloved Prophet. Whereas the Sunni people believe that rightfully the responsibility of leadership should have fallen upon the first four caliphs one by one and they were- Abu Bakr, Omar, Osman, and then finally Ali.

Shia vs Sunni


Comparison Table Between Shia and Sunni (in Tabular Form)

Parameter of ComparisonShiaSunni
PopulationFrom 10 to 13 percentFrom 87 to 90 percent
Responsibility of leadership after ProphetThey believe that the Prophet’s cousin and son-in-law Ali should be the rightful leader whom Muslims should follow after Muhammad.They don’t believe in such things. They believed that the 4 caliphs Abu Bakr, Omar, Osman, and Ali were the rightful leaders and they were the ones who could show the proper ways to maintain the religion as the Prophet has shown.
Mostly live inLives mostly in Iran, Iraq, Syria, Yemen, Lebanon, Bahrain, etc.Sunni believers contain the major population of most Muslim countries.
Day of religious observanceBoth Eid days and Ashura.Only two Eid days.
Grave worshipingAllowed.Definitely not allowed and if it happens it will be known as shirk, meaning the faith is broken.


Who are Shia Muslims?

Both groups of Muslim people, meaning Shia and Sunni Muslims have made plenty of theory of their own regarding their religion Islam.

Shia Muslims tend to think that after the demise of Muhammad, the responsibility of leadership should pass on to the Prophet’s own family member, such as- Ali (Ra), who was the husband of Prophet’s daughter Fatima.

They also think that politically the authority not only should fall upon Ali but also after his departure the string should get pass on to his descendants, the Imams.

It is believed that there were 12 Imams.

With passing days, these Imams were killed by Sunni Muslims for their own agenda. They also believe that the 12th Imam hasn’t died, he just went vanished and will come back to bring back the fallen law.

On the Day of Ashura, every Shia mourns the death of Prophet’s grandson Hussain and his entire family that was massacred in Karbala, Iraq.

On the matter of prayer, Shia Muslims pray a little bit differently than Sunni Muslims. While praying, Shias put their hands at their sides, on the other hand, Sunnis put their hand on their chest or stomach.

The majority of Shia Muslims can be found in Iran, Iraq, Bahrain, Yemen, Lebanon, etc. According to recent researches, Shia Muslims have been found also in Pakistan, Afghanistan, Syria, Qatar, Turkey, UAE, etc.


Who are Sunni Muslims?

Most accepted and biggest group of Islam are the Sunni people. The major portion of the Muslim community is called the Sunni Muslims. They cover almost 1.5 billion people in this world. That is nearly 90% of the whole Muslim population.

The main Muslim countries are Egypt, Saudi Arabia, Jordan, Pakistan, Malaysia, Bangladesh, Indonesia, etc.

They contain 90% Sunni Muslims at least. Others fall on to the group of Shias. In Arabic, the “Sunni” has a distinctive meaning.

That is – ‘prophet’s follower’ or ‘those who walk on the path showed by the beloved prophet’. Those who belong to the Sunni Muslim community, have to accept the judgment of the prophet’s companions.

After the death of Muhammad a few companions of his, decided that the next leader should be chosen by an election among those who have the ability to do the work for their religion.

And the first one who was selected to do the job was Abu Bakr. He became the first Caliph of the Muslim community, as he was the closest friend and confidant to the prophet.

Sunni Muslims believe that the first four Caliphs of the Islamic Union were the rightful choice and after their demise, the descendants of them ruled one after another in the Muslim community.


Main Differences Between Shia and Sunni

  1. In the Islamic world, Shia Muslims can be found in Iran, Iraq, Syria, Yemen, Bahrain, etc. And Sunni Muslims can be found in every major Muslim country and they are about 90%  of the whole Muslim society.
  2. According to Shia people, after the prophet’s death, his cousin and son-in-law Ali should have been the rightful leader and the fact that leadership went to the prophet’s other confidants before Ali is not acceptable to Shia Muslims. On the other hand, according to Sunni Muslims, the rightful successor after the prophet’s demise was Abu Bakr, Omar, Osman, and then Ali, as we have already discussed above.
  3. While praying salah, Shias tend to pray by putting their hands on their sides. And regarding the same matter, Sunnis tend to pray by putting their hands on their chest or stomach.
  4. Shias mostly believe in one best leader among the whole community. But Sunnis are most liberal and dissimilar in nature and views. They believe it is alright to have multiple leaders in different Muslim countries.
  5. Another particular difference between these two groups is- on the day of “Ashura” Shias follow the tradition of self-flailing and grieving. Sunni Muslims don’t follow such acts. To them, these actions are not acceptable and they don’t believe it – expresses the right path of Islam.
  6. Shia people believe that after the prophet’s death, the Muslim community should have followed certain Imams and leaders and the responsibility must pass on to the descendants of those leaders. On the other hand, the Sunni people believe in the Holy Quran and in the word of their beloved prophet which is called the Sunnah.



According to many professionals, the clash between Shia and Sunni Muslims has been going on since the prophet’s death and is based mainly on political authorities and having powers.

In some portion of the Muslim community, so many Sunni Muslims think that Shia Muslims are not actual followers and believers of Allah and his prophet.

Though not everywhere there are conflicts going on between these two groups.

There are many countries where both groups are living side by side with peace, apart from their difference in political leadership views.

Key Differences Between Shia and Sunni (PDF Format)

Download the key differences in .PDF format, to read or print them later:

Difference Between Shia and Sunni



  1. https://muse.jhu.edu/article/369714
  2. https://www.livingston.org/cms/lib4/NJ01000562/Centricity/Domain/578/The%20Origins%20of%20the%20Shia.docx
AskAnyDifference HomeClick here
Search for "Ask Any Difference" on Google. Rate this post!
[Total: 0]
One request?

I’ve put so much effort writing this blog post to provide value to you. It’ll be very helpful for me, if you consider sharing it on social media or with your friends/family. SHARING IS ♥️

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments