Unterschied zwischen HCPCS und CPT (mit Tabelle)

HCPCS gegen CPT

HCPCS and CPT work Hand in hand. HCPCS is the abbreviation for Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System. It is used by medical workers to claim their healthcare insurance to the insurance companies. The Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) is the set of code that is used to direct the usage of medical procedures to the authorities.

Die HCPCS-Codes bestehen aus drei Ebenen: Ebene 1, Ebene 2 und Ebene 3. Sie benötigen CPT-Codes, um die Leistungen von Ärzten und Chirurgen bei den Zahlern dieser Dienste in Anspruch zu nehmen. Diese Übung wird in Level 1-Codierung durchgeführt. Die Level 2-Kodierung gilt für Beschäftigte im Gesundheitswesen, die eine Krankenversicherung für medizinische Instrumente beantragen. Diese Ebene besteht aus verstaatlichten Codes.

Die CPT-Codes werden in der HCPCS Level 1-Codierung verwendet. Sie enthalten die Verfahren, die verschiedene medizinische Abteilungen während einer Operation befolgen müssen. Die American Medical Association hat drei Kategorien für die CPT-Codierung zugewiesen. Sie sind Kategorie 1, Kategorie 2 und Kategorie 3.

Das Unterschied zwischen HCPCS und CPT ist, dass HCPCS verwendet wird, um ein standardisiertes System zur Codierung der Gesundheitsdienste unter Verwendung der CPT-Codes bereitzustellen. Während die CPT-Codes diejenigen sind, die eine detaillierte Beschreibung der Codes enthalten, denen die Benutzer medizinischer Instrumente bei der Verwendung von chirurgischen, medizinischen und diagnostischen Instrumenten folgen müssen.


 

Vergleichstabelle zwischen HCPCS und CPT (in Tabellenform)

Parameter des VergleichsHCPCSCPT
WertHCPCS-Codes werden verwendet, um eine standardisierte Beschreibung der Bereitstellung von Gesundheitsdiensten zu geben.CPT-Codes werden verwendet, um die Dienstleistungen zu beschreiben, für die medizinisches Personal anerkannt werden muss.
SchutzDas Gesetz über die Portabilität und Rechenschaftspflicht von Krankenversicherungen sieht vor, dass jeder frei sein sollte, auf HCPCS-Verfahren zuzugreifen.CPT-Codes sind Eigentum der American Medical Association und Außenstehende müssen für den Zugriff auf diese bezahlen.
AbteilungenHCPCS arbeitet auf drei Ebenen. Nämlich Level 1, Level 2 und Level 3.CPT hat drei Kategorien. Sie sind Kategorie 1, Kategorie 2 und Kategorie 3.
SchöpferHCPCS wurde von den Centers for Medicare and Medicaid (CMS) erstellt.CPT wurde von der American Medical Association (AMA) entwickelt.
Die betroffenenHCPCS verfügt über Codes sowohl für direkte als auch für nicht direkte Beschäftigte im Gesundheitswesen.Die CPT-Codes gelten nur für die Verfahren, die an einem Patienten durchgeführt werden sollen.

 

Was ist HCPCS?

HCPCS-Codes wurden von der Organisation Centers for Medicare und Medicaid entwickelt. Es wurde entwickelt, um die Versicherungspolicen zu identifizieren, für die man berechtigt ist. Es ist jetzt für jedermann leicht zugänglich, da die HIPAA es kostenlos gemacht hat. Es hat drei Ebenen. Jede dieser Ebenen beschreibt die Verfahren, die von verschiedenen Gesundheitspersonal benötigt werden.

Stufe 1 enthält die Codes, die die American Medical Association angesprochen hat. Dies sind die CPT-Codes. Diese Codes werden von den direkten Gesundheitspersonal verwendet. Sie bestehen aus den Verfahren, die während der Operation an einem Patienten bekannt sein müssen. Diese medizinischen Leistungen müssen den medizinischen, chirurgischen und diagnostischen Abteilungen bekannt sein.

The Level 2 of HCPCS consists of the codes that are related to non-physical service providers. Mainly the ambulance services are noted here. Subdivisions of Level 2 are in the format of a capital letter followed by a four-digit number. For example, the code A0021 denotes the procedures noted for Transportation, Medical and Surgical Supplies, and Miscellaneous and Experimental activities.

Die Level 3-Codes werden als lokale Codes bezeichnet. Diese Codes werden derzeit nicht verwendet, haben jedoch eine Historie bis zum 31. Dezember 2003. Dies liegt daran, dass CPT einen zuverlässigeren Satz von Codes entwickelt hat, um die Krankenversicherung in einem bestimmten Programm zu beschreiben.

EMPFOHLEN  Unterschied zwischen Chipmunk und Eichhörnchen (mit Tabelle)
HCPCS
 

Was ist CPT?

Die American Medical Association hat CPT erstellt, um die Verfahren zu behandeln, die medizinische Fachkräfte bei der Behandlung von Patienten befolgen müssen. Dies wird von der CPT-Redaktion in der AMA veröffentlicht. Jedes Jahr im Oktober wird die aktualisierte Version von CPT veröffentlicht. Es gibt drei Kategorien in CPT.

Kategorie 1 enthält sechs Hauptabschnitte. Dies sind Codes für die Bewertung und Verwaltung, Codes für die Anästhesie, Codes für die Chirurgie, Codes für die Radiologie, Codes für die Pathologie und das Labor sowie Codes für die Medizin. Bei eingehender Prüfung beeinflussen alle diese Abteilungen hauptsächlich die Kopfstufe der medizinischen Fachkräfte.

Die zweite Kategorie in CPT definiert die Codes, denen Kliniken bei der Bewertung und Verwaltung folgen müssen. Der Beirat der CPT - Performance Measures Advisory Group bearbeitet und überprüft diese Kategorie. Die Codes werden in einem Muster benannt, das mit vier Ziffern gefolgt von einem Großbuchstaben beginnt.

Die dritte Kategorie von CPT wird von der aufkommenden Technologie im medizinischen Bereich angesprochen. Es beginnt von 0016T - 0207T. Da die AMA die Rechte von CPT besitzt, muss jede Organisation, die auf diese Codes zugreifen muss, diese dafür bezahlen. Die neueste Version von CPT ist CPT2020.

CPT codes

Hauptunterschiede zwischen HCPCS und CPT

  • HCPCS ist eine standardisierte Beschreibung der Verfahren, die ein Arzt bei der Behandlung eines Patienten befolgen muss. CPT besteht aus den Codes, die diese Prozeduren beschreiben.
  • Die HIPAA hat vorgeschrieben, dass jeder auf HCPCS zugreifen kann. Das CPT ist von AMA urheberrechtlich geschützt und daher ein kostenpflichtiger Dienst.
  • HCPCS ist in drei Ebenen unterteilt, hauptsächlich Ebene 1, Ebene 2 und Ebene 3. Das CPT ist in drei Kategorien unterteilt, nämlich Kategorie 1, Kategorie und Kategorie 3.
  • Die Zentren für Medicare und Medicaid entwickelten HCPCS. Die American Medical Association ist der Schöpfer von CPT.
  • Die Codes in HCPCS gelten sowohl für direkte als auch für indirekte Mediziner. Das CPT ist Teil von HCPCS und enthält die Regeln, die bei der Behandlung eines Patienten zu beachten sind.

 

Fazit

Sowohl HCPCS-Codes als auch CPT-Codes werden verwendet, um die von Ärzten angebotenen Dienste zu steuern. HCPCS besteht aus drei Ebenen. Jede dieser Ebenen besteht aus den Codes, denen verschiedene Personen, die mit dem medizinischen Bereich verwandt sind, bei der Erfüllung ihrer Aufgaben folgen müssen. Bei Inanspruchnahme ihrer Krankenversicherung werden diese nicht eingereicht.

Die CPT-Codes sind Teil der HCPCS-Codes. Sie enthalten die Codes, die Praktiker bei der Diagnose und Behandlung eines Patienten befolgen müssen. Es gibt drei Kategorien, anhand derer diese Verfahren erläutert wurden. Die AMA besitzt die Rechte zur Veröffentlichung und Erneuerung dieser Verfahren.


 

Word Cloud für den Unterschied zwischen HCPCS und CPT

Das Folgende ist eine Sammlung der am häufigsten verwendeten Begriffe in diesem Artikel über HCPCS und CPT. Dies sollte Ihnen helfen, verwandte Begriffe, wie sie in diesem Artikel verwendet werden, zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt für Sie abzurufen.

Difference Between HCPCS and CPT

Difference Between HCPCS and CPT (With Table)

HCPCS vs CPT

HCPCS and CPT work hand in hand. HCPCS is the abbreviation for Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System. It is used by medical workers to claim their healthcare insurance to the insurance companies. The Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) is the set of code that is used to direct the usage of medical procedures to the authorities.

The HCPCS codes consist of three levels, Level 1, Level 2, and Level 3. It needs CPT codes to claim the services by physicians and surgeons to the payers of these services. This practice is done in Level 1 coding. The Level 2 coding is for healthcare workers for claiming medical insurance for medical instruments. This level consists of nationalized codes.

The CPT codes are the ones that are used in the HCPCS Level 1 coding. They contain the procedures that different medical departments have to follow during an operation. The American Medical Association has assigned three categories in CPT coding. They are Category 1, Category 2, and Category 3.

The difference between HCPCS and CPT is that HCPCS is used to provide a standardized system for coding the healthcare services using the CPT codes. While the CPT codes are the ones that contain a detailed description of the codes that the medical instrument users have to follow while using surgical, medical, and diagnostic instruments.


 

Comparison Table Between HCPCS and CPT (in Tabular Form)

Parameters of ComparisonHCPCSCPT
ValueHCPCS codes are used to give a standardized description of delivering healthcare services.CPT codes are used to describe the services that medical workers have to be acknowledged.
ProtectionThe Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act states that everyone should be free to access HCPCS procedures.CPT codes have been owned by the American Medical Association and outsiders have to pay for accessing these.
DivisionsHCPCS operates on three levels. Namely, Level 1, Level 2, and Level 3.CPT has three categories. They are Category 1, Category 2, and Category 3.
CreatorsHCPCS was created by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid (CMS).CPT was developed by the American Medical Association (AMA).
The AffectedHCPCS has codes for both direct healthcare workers and non-direct healthcare workers.The CPT codes are only for the procedures that are to be operated upon a patient.

 

What is HCPCS?

HCPCS codes have been developed by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid organization. It was developed for identifying the insurance policies one is eligible for. It is now been easily accessible by anyone since the HIPAA has made it free of cost. It has three levels. Each of these levels describes the procedures needed by different health workers.

Level 1 contains the codes that the American Medical Association has addressed. These are the CPT codes. These codes are being used by the direct health workers. They consist of the procedures that have to be known while operating on a patient. These medical services are to be known by medical, surgical, and diagnostic departments.

The Level 2 of HCPCS consists of the codes that are related to non-physical service providers. Mainly the ambulance services are noted here. Subdivisions of Level 2 are in the format of a capital letter followed by a four-digit number. For example, the code A0021 denotes the procedures noted for Transportation, Medical and Surgical Supplies, and Miscellaneous and Experimental activities.

The Level 3 codes are called the local codes. These codes are presently not in use but they have a history until December 31, 2003. This is because a more reliable set of codes was developed by CPT to describe the Health Insurance in a specific program.

RECOMMENDED  Difference Between Acid Reflux and Indigestion (With Table)
HCPCS
 

What is CPT?

The American Medical Association has produced CPT for addressing the procedures that medical professionals have to follow while attending patients. This is published by the CPT editorial panel in the AMA. In October every year, the updated version of CPT is released. There are three categories in CPT.

Category 1 contains six main sections. They are Codes for evaluation and management, codes for anesthesia, codes for surgery, codes for radiology, codes for pathology and laboratory, and codes for medicine. When checked deeply, all these divisions are mainly influencing the head level, medical workers.

The second category in CPT defines the codes that clinics have to follow while evaluating and managing them. The advisory board of CPT – Performance Measures Advisory Group edits and reviews this category. The codes are named in a pattern that begins with four digits followed by a capital letter.

The third category of CPT is addressed by the emerging technology in the medical field. It starts from 0016T – 0207T. Since the AMA holds the rights of CPT, any organization that needs to access these codes has to pay them for doing so. The latest version of CPT is CPT2020.

CPT

Main Differences Between HCPCS and CPT

  • HCPCS is a standardized description of the procedures a medical professional has to follow while attending a patient. CPT consists of the codes that describe these set of procedures.
  • The HIPAA has made it mandatory that anyone can access HCPCS. The CPT is copyrighted by AMA and hence it is a paid service.
  • HCPCS is divided into three levels, mainly Level 1, Level 2, and Level 3. The CPT is divided into three categories namely, Category 1, Category, and Category 3.
  • The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid developed HCPCS. The American Medical Association is the creator of CPT.
  • The codes in HCPCS are applicable for both direct and indirect medical professionals. The CPT is a part of HCPCS and it contains the rules to follow while treating a patient.

 

Conclusion

Both HCPCS codes and CPT codes are used to direct the services offered by medical practitioners. HCPCS consists of three levels. Each of these levels consists of the codes that different people who are related to the medical field have to follow while performing their duties. While claiming their medical insurance, these are t be submitted.

The CPT codes are a part of the HCPCS codes. They contain the codes that practitioners have to follow while diagnosing and treating a patient.  There are three categories through which these procedures have been explained. The AMA holds the rights for publishing and renewing these procedures.


 

Word Cloud for Difference Between HCPCS and CPT

The following is a collection of the most used terms in this article on HCPCS and CPT. This should help in recalling related terms as used in this article at a later stage for you.

Difference Between HCPCS and CPT