Difference Between Oat Milk and Almond Milk (With Table)

Milk is a great source of protein and calcium. The normal milk with which we all are familiar is the one derived from the cows. It contains a protein called lactose. Some people are intolerant to lactose. For them, these substitute kinds of milk are invented. These are non-dairy, lactose-free, and vegan-friendly milk substitutes. So here are some differences between oats and almond milk which will make you know these at another level.

Oat Milk vs Almond Milk

The difference between oats milk and almond milk is that the kinds of milk are extracted from different kinds of substances. Oats milk is extracted from whole grain food that is oats, and on the other hand, almond milk is extracted from nuts that are almond. So they have more different types of properties as they are derived from completely different food products.

Oats milk is extracted from whole grain food called oats. It is lactose-free, gluten-free, and soy-free, and also tree-nut-free. So it can be consumed by most people except those with oats allergy or celiac diseases. People having celiac disease should choose the brand of oats to milk correctly.

Almond milk is mainly nut milk. It is extracted from almonds. It is dairy-free, gluten-free, and soy-free. It can be consumed by lactose-intolerant people. But people having nuts allergy should avoid this milk as it can cause health problems to them. Almond milk has less calorie count in comparison to oats milk.

Comparison Table Between Oat Milk and Almond Milk

Parameters of comparisonOat MilkAlmond Milk
Ideal for peopleHaving lactose intolerance, soy intolerance or nut allergiesHaving lactose intolerance, soy intolerance, celiac disease or gluten sensitivity
Heath benefitsCalcium, Vitamin D, Riboflavin, Dietary fiber  Calcium, Vitamin E
IngredientsOats, water, oil, fortified nutrients, sweeteners, and other preservatives.Almond, water, thickeners such as carrageenan, guar gum etc., fortifies nutrients, and some preservatives
Who cannot consume?People having an allergy to oats and ones with celiac disease should choose brands correctly.Not for people with almond or tree-nut allergy
Calorie countHighLow

What is Oat Milk?

Oats milk is extracted from whole grain food called oats. It is lactose-free, gluten-free, and soy-free, and also tree-nut-free. So it can be consumed by most people except those with oats allergy or celiac diseases. People having celiac disease should choose the brand of oats to milk correctly.

As oats, milk is a substitute for cow’s milk, so it should have some of its properties. Some of the health benefits of oats milk are Calcium, Vitamin D, Riboflavin, Dietary fiber. Oats milk tastes like dairy milk. Oats milk has a high-calorie count. Those people who are working to lose weight should consume a limited amount of this milk.

Some of the ingredients required to prepare oats milk are oats, water, oil, fortified nutrients, sweeteners, and other preservatives. The process is that the oats and water is blended, and the liquid milk is extracted from the pulp. That milk is added with other ingredients and packed for sale. It is not recommended for people having allergies to oats, and one’s with celiac disease should choose brands correctly while buying oats milk.

What is Almond Milk?

Almond milk is mainly nut milk. It is extracted from almonds. It is dairy-free, gluten-free, and soy-free. It can be consumed by lactose-intolerant people. But people having nuts allergy should avoid this milk as it can cause health problems to them. Almond milk has less calorie count in comparison to oats milk.

Almond milk is also a substitute for the dairy milk derived from the cows. This milk has a protein called lactose. Almond milk is for those people having lactose intolerance, celiac disease, or gluten sensitivity. Some people are also detected with nut allergies. Almond milk is not recommended for people with almond or tree-nut allergies. Almond milk is mainly prepared from almonds but tastes similarly to dairy. 

Some ingredients required to prepare almond milk are almond, water, thickeners such as carrageenan, guar gum, etc., fortifies nutrients and some preservatives. The almond and water are blended. The liquid milk is separated from the pulp. After that, the milk is added with other ingredients to increase the quality and packed for sale. The calorie content of almond milk is less and is ideal for people going through a weight loss journey.

Main Differences Between Oat Milk and Almond Milk

  1. Oats milk is ideal for people having lactose intolerance or nut allergies, whereas almond milk is for those people having lactose intolerance, celiac disease, or gluten sensitivity.
  2. Some of the health benefits of oats milk are Calcium, Vitamin D, Riboflavin, Dietary fibers, etc. On the other hand, some of the health benefits of almond milk are Calcium, Vitamin E.
  3. Ingredients required to prepare oats milk are oats, water, oil, fortified nutrients, sweeteners, and other preservatives. Some ingredients required to prepare almond milk are almond, water, thickeners such as carrageenan, guar gum, etc., fortifies nutrients and some preservatives.
  4. It is not recommended for people having allergies to oats, and one’s with celiac disease should choose brands correctly while buying oats milk. Almond milk is not recommended for people with almond or tree-nut allergies.

Conclusion 

Both oats milk and almond milk are great choices for people who are intolerant to lactose. These kinds of milk are also available in the market now in different flavors, which enhances their taste. They are nineteen-twenty similar to that of cow milk but without lactose. So ultimately, it appeared as a boon to the people. They can make milkshakes and any other recipes using these kinds of milk. Both of them are very good for health as well.

They contain many nutrients that are naturally dissolved in dairy milk. Calcium is the main nutrient people intake from milk. So one should try both of these types of milk, but a caution for those who have nut allergy to avoid the almond milk and individual having oats allergy should avoid the oats milk.

References

  1. https://www.emerald.com/insight/content/doi/10.1108/NFS-03-2020-0073/full/html
  2. https://link.springer.com/article/10.1007/s11367-019-01716-5

x
2D vs 3D